Morning Coffee: Bobo at the Broyles

Tuesday, December 4

(Photo by Sonny Kennedy/UGA Sports Communications)

Georgia offensive coordinator Mike Bobo is in the Little Rock, Ark., where a luncheon will be held at 12:30 p.m. (Eastern) Tuesday to give out the Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

Bobo is one of five finalists for the award and UGA's first finalist since Brian VanGorder won the award in 2003.

The other finalists are Notre Dame defensive coordinator Bob Diaco, Texas A&M offensive coordinator Kliff Kingsbury, Florida defensive coordinator Dan Quinn and Stanford defensive coordinator Derek Mason.

How good a chance does Bobo have?

Well, there are 10 former coaches on the committee to select the Broyles winner, and you've got to think at least two of them -- Vince Dooley and Bobby Bowden -- fall into the friendly category for Bobo.

The past three Broyles winners -- LSU's John Chavis in 2011, Auburn's Gus Malzahn in 2010 and Alabama's Kirby Smart in 2009 -- have all been from the SEC.


*** Elsewhere on the awards front, Jarvis Jones missed out Monday on the Butkus Award (best LB) and the Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player), each of which went to Notre Dame's Manti Te'o.

Jarvis, who was in Charlotte for the Nagurski presentation and has a busy week of travel ahead, is still up for two awards. But Te'o, a Heisman finalist, is up for them too.

The Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker) will be presented at a banquet in Houston on Wednesday night. Finalists: South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney, Alabama's Barrett Jones, Te'o and Jarvis. The ceremony will be televised by the CBS Sports Network.

Clowney and Te'o are the two other finalists with Jarvis for the Bednarik Award (top defensive player), which will be presented as a part of the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN on Thursday night.


*** There is one more major award with a Georgia player as a finalist, but it won't be handed out until after the bowl games.

Aaron Murray is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, which goes to the top quarterback.

Other finalists: Matt Barkley, Tajh Boyd, Collin Klein, Jordan Lynch, Johnny Manziel, Marcus Mariota, AJ McCarron, Braxton Miller and Geno Smith.



Here's one columnist who feels pretty strongly about Georgia failing to make a BCS bowl game.



I cant stop grinding i am still mad about that HIGH school league crap they done created a monster i swear

WR commit Tramel Terry

Around finals time you won't catch a study room empty..

LB Josh Dawson

Women hating on other women is so funny but all women do it behing their back or to their face dont understand y but its funny to me

QB Christian LeMay

Why was it so important that they fix the roads by Ecv this week

LB Amarlo Herrera

If you text me; and I don't respond it prolly mean you done pissed me off...

WR Tavarres King

Ambitious u gotta have ambitions to make a way out da streets u gotta have a vision #Truestory

DL Garrison Smith

Skip To Comments

Already have an account? Sign In