Top Dawgs honored at Gala

ATHENS, Ga. -- UGA's football team held its annual team Gala on Saturday night, naming permanent team captains and handing out other in-house honors.

Aaron Murray was named offensive MVP among UGA's team Saturday night. (Photo by Wes Blankenship/UGA Sports Communications)

Linebacker Jarvis Jones was selected as the overall permanent team captain for 2012, while Aaron Murray and Tavarres King were the offensive captains, Shawn Williams was the defensive captain and Ty Frix was voted special teams captain.

Here's a listing of other awards from Saturday night ...
(Results courtesy of UGA Sports Communications)

Vince Dooley Most Valuable Players of the Year
Aaron Murray
Jarvis Jones

Most Valuable Offensive Player
Aaron Murray

Most Valuable Defensive Players
Jarvis Jones
Alec Ogletree

Most Valuable Special Teams Players
Connor Norman
Blake Sailors

David Jacobs Award
(Players who portray courage, spirit, character and determination)
Richard Samuel
Abry Jones

Newcomer of the Year Awards
Todd Gurley
Keith Marshall
Jordan Jenkins
Sheldon Dawson
Collin Barber

Most Improved Player Awards
Arthur Lynch
Alexander Ogletree
Damian Swann
Corey Moore

Coaches Leadership Awards
David Andrews
Aaron Murray
Shawn Williams
Kosta Vavlas

Charley Trippi Award
(Most versatile player)
Malcolm Mitchell

Frank Sinkwich Toughness Award
Shawn Williams

Leon Farmer Award
(Dedication to strength and conditioning)
Aaron Murray
David Andrews

Outstanding Scout Team Awards
Corey Campbell
Dustin Royston
Faton Bauta
Luis Capella
Lucas Redd

Skip To Comments

Already have an account? Sign In